Catching Up Is A Good Thing

Hello lovelies!!!!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Independence Day weekend! My weekend was filled with good times, good food, and good friends. The weather was perfect, the laughs were in abundance, and it was all around a great time. I’m preeeetty excited that July and the second half of the year is upon us. This first half of the year was a little rough…uh a LOT rough…and filled with a lot of uncertainty and just transition. I think I’m in a space to settle into a new groove. 

Guess who went for a run this weekend?!?! ME!!! It feels like it’s been so long since I’ve gone for a run outdoors, and it was just the medicine I needed. Lately I’ve felt the itch to go for a run, but truthfully, I’ve been away from running consistently for so long that I honestly was afraid of being SUPER SLOW by the time I got back out there, lol. Silly me, lol. Yesterday was a simple 2 miler – I’m literally testing the waters here – and I didn’t die, lol. All the lifting I’ve been doing over these past 6 months have definitely made me stronger and it was evident during my run that my legs can handle more of a pounding than usual. It’s just my cardio capacity that needs to catch up. 

I think I’m going to run a half marathon this fall. Last one I ran was back in May 2013, and I kinda miss it. I figure it’ll make for an interesting couple of months. I’d like to see how oly lifting and crossfitting and running all mix together. Even as I say it, I am questioning my sanity, but realistically speaking…I love olympic weightlifting. I love crossfit. I love running. Why the three can’t exist in the same world is a question I’ve been asking myself as of late. I don’t think you have to be all into one particular sport and shun other forms of activity. Though, admittedly, all three of those can be pretty damn demanding on the body, so clearly caution needs to be taken. Buuuuut, I’ve never been one to shy away from a challenge and I’m definitely not one to accept that something is out of my reach or is just not meant to be attained. Soooo…I’m gonna work it out.

In other news, I’ll be at the IDEA World Fitness BlogFest this August and I’m super excited! This will be my first time attending a conference specifically for fitbloggers and I’m hoping to come away from it with a bunch of ideas how to to make my little blog better. I’ll be sure to do some live tweeting and posting from the event, so keep an eye out for that!

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

