Did I Do That?

Currently I’m sitting in my bed in quite a stupor. Not a bad stupor, bur rather one of those “Oh my goodness I can’t believe I just worked out so hard…what just happened?” kind of stupor.

Yes, something like this.

Yes, something like this.

But let me explain…I definitely did this to myself. When I enjoy myself, I thoroughly enjoy myself…and basically I spent about 3 hours today lifting. Recently, I’ve begun a Weightlifting (aka Olympic Weightlifting aka Oly) class to get better with my lifts. It’s pretty sweet actually, because that’s the reason I started crossfit in the first place and about two months into my time at my box they announced the addition of a specialized Oly class. The coach is pretty decent and the class format is pretty simple…you show up, he has your individualized assignment/workout for the day written on the whiteboard, and you have at it. Any modifications you need to make are up to you and he watches the class (about 5-6 of us total) as we each perform our work, while giving us feedback and answering any questions we might have. The aim of each class is to work on foundation movements and build strength, speed, and proper form. Best 90 minutes of my day.

And somehow…also the worst, lol. Because it totally…TOTALLY whoops your butt. Weightlifting (not to be confused with weight lifting/weight training) is no…joke! Heavy weights, complex movements, multiple sets and reps, all in all it’s the repetition that helps get the form together and the heavy weight helps build strength. Knowing all of this…I still went ahead and worked out today, against my coach’s advice…like 2 hours before class. Wouldn’t have been so bad if it were just easy walking or something light, but I’m trying to further develop my squats and so I devised a little program to do on off days.

It goes a lil something like this:

  1. Box Step Up to Single Leg Balance – 10 reps, 2 sets, each leg
  2. 2 Push Press + 1 Overhead Squat – 7 reps, 1 set
  3. Barbell Box Squats – 5 reps, 5 sets
  4. Romanian Deadlift – 5 reps, 8 sets

I cut out one exercise since I’ve got a bought of tendinitis/tennis elbow, but I was able to do everything else relatively well. It was a good workout and I got a really nice sweat from it. Then I came home, soaked, and headed back out to Oly class. Only to walk in and see my workout for the day was:

  1. Hang Muscle Snatch + Hang Power Snatch – 2 sets, 7 reps
  2. Power Snatch from Box – 3 reps, 6 sets
  3. 6 Snatch grip Push Press + 5 Overhead Squats – 5 sets
  4. Snatch Grip Romanian Deadlift – 6 reps, 4 sets

Notice anything? Yea…some of the same movements, done in both workouts. Thankfully I played it smart…I knew my elbow was gonna be a little sticky, so I at least took time to warm up and I stuck with lighter weights. Like…WAY lighter weights. Oddly enough, towards the end of the workout, I felt really good. Arm, legs, all that. But still…slight stupor since I just didn’t anticipate going through all of that today. I topped of the evening with a few minutes in this hydro massage bed at my local gym, and I’m definitely going to sleep soundly tonight. Suffice to say I’ve learned my lesson…never both of those on the same day ever…again! Till next time! 😉

tumblr_mpynhhKpXU1rzzw9yo1_500

BIG KISS!!!

Leave a Reply

