Personal Training, Pizza, and People Watching

…or “How I Spent My Weekend”

I LOVE NY T SHIRT BLACK

Either way you title it, the bottom line was I had an EPIC time over the weekend. I went up to NYC to participate in a Personal Training Workshop held by the National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM). For those of you who aren’t aware, or perhaps forgot, I’m studying to become a certified personal trainer with the goal of attaining said certification by this spring. The workshop itself was great; I got lots of good information from the discussion and even from the hands on coaching we were able to do on one another. There were new trainers, soon to be trainers (like myself), and trainers who’d been in the field for years – and regardless of our background I think we all came away from the workshop having learned something new. I love it.

A majority of my time though was spent walking around NYC. I walked SO MUCH!!!! NYC is a walking city, especially if you’re travelling around Manhattan. Many times I would walk the 10-15 blocks instead of just hopping on the subway, just because I enjoyed the sites and the peace of mind that came from being outside – in spite of the cold even! When I wasn’t walking around and enjoying being another random person in that great big city, I was stuffing my face with pizza. It was terrible. The Jersey girl in me loves a good slice of pizza, and while I believe that there’s really only ONE place that can live up to my standards, New York pizza was close enough to satisfy. I also managed to stuff my face with all kinds of terribly deliciously fattening foods. I mean, I let myself have that moment…

Photo Feb 28, 3 34 33 PM

Courtesy of Crif Dogs NYC…hot dogs wrapped in bacon??? I had to…

My friend and I got thoroughly wasted...CHOCOLATE wasted!

My friend and I got thoroughly wasted…CHOCOLATE wasted!

uh…moments? Lol, back to business as usual now that I’m back home though.

While I was in the city on my walking adventures I happened to make my way to the Reebok Fithub over on 5th Avenue. The staff was super helpful and of course the crossfit dialogue was flowing, as I would imagine it’d tend to do in the midst of the 2014 CrossFit Open. What I didn’t realize was that under the store was a HUGE crossfit facility! Like literally, downstairs within the store is a crossfit box filled will all kinds of goodies and toys!

Photo Mar 03, 3 31 19 PM

Me with one of the awesome staff members from Reebok CrossFit 5th Ave.

Me with one of the awesome staff members from Reebok CrossFit 5th Ave.

Since I was away from  my home box, I was able to do the 14.1 workout right there! Note: 14.1 is the 1st workout in the 2014 CrossFit Open. It’s named by year and week. So the 2nd week, the one that is announced this Friday, will be 14.2, then 14.3, etc The workout called for 30 double unders followed by 15 power snatches at 55lbs (for the ladies) or 75lbs (for the fellas). The goal was to do as many rounds as possible (AMRAP) of that combination of movements within 10 minutes. I managed to get a total score of 146, which was 3 complete rounds of double unders and power snatches, with 11 double unders. Looking at the workout itself, it didn’t seem SO hard, but what you (I) didn’t anticipate was how quickly it would take your breath away. The first round went just fine, but the second round was kinda tough due to the double unders. There’s something about them that can get into your head and really throw you off your game. For whatever reason, I just couldn’t get my rhythm back and kinda fudged my way through the rest of them. I mean, hey, for a newbie, I’m quite pleased with how I did and the fact that I was able to keep a relatively good pace going. However, I wonder what the other 4 workouts will be…and I’m even more curious if I can do them since it seems like I have a case of tendonitis of the elbow aka tennis elbow. It’s my own fault really, I was doing way too much in terms of volume without giving myself ample rest. I have this nasty habit of pushing my boundaries, sometimes to a fault. BUT all that said, I’m resting like a good girl now and have been doing a few rehabilitative exercises that should get me back in the game in a little while.

In the meantime, I think I’ll just fantasize about the weather changing out of this cold snowy mush so that I can go running along the trails in the glorious sun. Goodness I miss that. I know I’m not the only one who is looking forward to spring’s arrival…am I?

Anywho, till next time!

Leave a Reply

