Sometimes You Need to Chill

I've got mine!!!

I’ve got mine!!!

 

That’s precisely what I’m doing today. These past couple of weeks have been pretty busy considering I’m unemployed…yea, lost my job at the beginning of this year. I haven’t said much about it, because in all honesty, I’m ok with it. I’m looking for work, but have been very selective in terms of what I will apply for. Additionally, my days have been filled with pursing my dreams, so I’ve been working out, studying for my Personal Trainer Certification, thinking of new ideas for the blog…ya know, just being awesome.

Anywho, as I was saying before, I’ve been pretty busy, lol. Do you follow me on Instagram? Because you should – it’s easy to see what I’ve been up to there and additionally I make an effort to post inspirational messages and musings there as well. These days I’ve been doing two-a-days five days a week, Monday through Friday. I’m working out like it’s my job because, well it IS my job. I’m building myself up and want to help build you up too, you see. *smile*

Cross-fit is going QUITE well, and I am pretty much in love with the sport. Expect to see a post about why in the near future. I attend class Mon – Fri and will either run or do some other form of cardio for 45-60 minutes that same day. It sounds crazy, but it ends up working out just fine. Let me tell you why… The nature of the program my box does is a lot of good and honest mobility (stretching), strength work, skill work, and metabolic conditioning (think High Intensity Interval Training). So within that 60 minute class I get a good 10 minutes worth of stretching, 20 – 30 minutes of strength and skill work, then the remaining time is used for metcon (metabolic conditioning). It’s meant to be tough and it does wear you out, but it doesn’t KILL me. I can still function and go through the rest of my day. I decided to add straight cardio to the mix on my own because I have found that I have the energy to do so and I want to make sure that I’m still in good conditioning to run. The cardio helps in conjunction with crossfit and watching what I eat to help me slim down some and convert that fat to muscle.

My weight loss has been consistent, and my body is literally changing before my eyes. I love it really. If you were to ask me, this is happiness. Truthfully.

But today? I’m chilling.

Yesterday was a lot of working out. I ran 3 miles with legs that felt like lead. Then did a crossfit wod that consisted of burpees (ugh), double unders, and russian twists. Later that evening I decided to do a BodyFlow class since I found out that one of my favorite instructors would be leading the class. Suffice to say, as much as I loved everything I did yesterday, today I find myself lagging a bit. I could have laid off on one of the 3 workouts, but what’s done is done. Today, we rest and read.

So here’s to a happy and healthy hump day to all of you!

2 thoughts on “Sometimes You Need to Chill

  1. Wow, you HAVE been busy – sorry to hear about the job, but good on you for being so positive about it. Somethings are just meant to be and, as you’ve already shown, it’s working out well!

    Sounds like your day of just chilling was more than deserved!

Leave a Reply

