What it Means to Be 30

So…today is my birthday. My 30th Birthday to be more specific. And with this milestone birthday has come a lot of thoughts about what I want out of life, who I’ve become, where I would like to go. There is something about leaving the 20’s behind that makes you reevaluate your life a little bit. Namely, how you spent the past formulative years of your (young) adulthood and what you want to do since you’ve become a ‘grown up.’

Let me say….I’m proud of the person I’ve become and the woman I seem to be becoming. There were some life-changing experiences that happened to me in my 20s, specifically my mid to late 20s that have shaped me greatly and made me into this crazy person you might see before you now. Namely, my mid-20s introduced me to the concept of managing my own health.

I’d never before considered myself to be an athlete…or healthy…or someone you could ask about either of those things and expect to get a serious answer. But…through a bunch of little changes, some rather large changes have happened. I AM an athlete. More specifically, I am a runner. I may not be the fastest runner, but I am a runner (and to hell with anyone who might deign to say otherwise). I’ve been able to lose and keep off 50 lbs for the past 3 (going on 4) years. When I eat, I realize when I’m eating poorly…and when I am eating like I have some damn sense. My friends and even perfect strangers now, will ask my opinion about health, wellness, running, and even strength training. And the icing on the cake?

Along the way to finding my own ‘happy pace’ and achieving my own fitness goals, I’ve found my purpose in life.

To help others do the exact same thing.

I’m that girl inthe gym going crazy with the kettlebells. Or pounding the shit out of the treadmill. Or with that rack of bibs and medals from races I’ve run. I’m that self proclaimed, tested-and-proven, half-marathoner. And that is a blessing. I welcome that change of pace. And if this is the beginning of what my 30s will look like, then baaaabbbyyyyy it’s about to get SO much more interesting.

I’m thankful for everything that has brought me to this point in my life. I am thankful for all of you who read this blog, or like my Facebook, or follow me on Twitter or Pinterest (shameless plugs!). Each one of you, though I may have never met or may never meet you, are a blessing to me. I think of you guys when I run…or when I don’t. When I have an awesome healthy food moment…or when I get chocolate wasted. I know there are those of you out there who can identify with where I’m coming from, and I’m glad that this little blog of mine has enabled me to share my story with you guys.

I have a feeling that the next 30 years of my life will be filled with even more wonderful adventures and moments of self discovery. I envision continued progress towards my health goals, and a reaching and then surpassing those same goals. I know that along the way I will be able to meet and interact with other people who are making their way towards their own level of optimal health, and I believe that I will have a hand at getting them that much closer. I see this blog turning into something bigger than a blog and I see myself becoming more than a blogger/runner/fitfanatic. The first 30 years helped solidify the destination and chart the course. The next 30 will find me navigating the waters, making headway, and creating a map which others might be able to follow.

I’m not trying to just be fit for me. I’m doing it for you to. For any and everyone who thinks they can’t, you can…WE can. Just watch.

The Kraken has been unleashed. Time to go beast mode on everything….

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME 😀

4 thoughts on “What it Means to Be 30

Leave a Reply

