Races for 2014

The year isn’t quite over yet, but I’ve already begun to think about which races I’d like to participate in next year. This year I’d set a lofty goal of running 13 half marathons and a marathon at the end of the year…yea I stopped after half marathon #4.

I don’t want that to happen again. Granted, there were a few life changes that happened along the way, but realistically speaking I just hadn’t thought through my race schedule well enough. Like…maybe it wasn’t he best idea in the world to run two half marathons within a week of each other…*shrug* That’s why you can’t let yourself get swept up in the race hysteria.

Lesson Learned: If a race isn’t on your calendar…you may want to just skip it till the next year or take another one off.

This time around I sat and thought about races I enjoyed. Ones that I really, REALLY enjoyed and could be annual races for me. Then I created another list of races that I wouldn’t mind doing again, but if I couldn’t make it to or if they sold out, it wouldn’t be the end of the world. Finally, I considered the races that I’d heard of or read about that I thought would be cool to run. Most of them are destination kind of races, which is a nice little way to plan a mini vacation or a full on one. I’m hoping that prioritizing the races like this will allow we to create a more well rounded race calendar that gives me room to breathe/rest in between.

This is what I’ve got so far…

Group A: The Favorites
Rock N Roll DC
GW Parkway 10 Miler
MCM Historic Half

Group B: The Wouldn’t Minds
Nike Women’s Half DC
Rock N Roll Philly

Group C: The Like to Try’s
Avenue of the Giants Half/Full Marathon
NYRR 5 Burroughs Half Marathon Series
Rock N Roll Savannah

Right now, I’m just compiling the list. I’m sure there are more to add to Group C…actually I KNOW there are. But I’m trying to at least see what it is that I’m working with. I have started to pull an actual calendar of dates together and already there is some conflict there, so I shall see how it all works out. For my runners out there, how do you like to plan out your calendar? What works for you?

4 thoughts on “Races for 2014

Leave a Reply

