On the Importance of Consistency

Whatever your goals in life…be they professional or personal…the key to getting what it is you seek is to be consistent in your efforts. When it comes to losing weight, that same consistency or lack there of, will be the determining factor in how much progress you make. I’m a prime example of that myself. When I first started my weight loss journey, I was rather consistent in my eating and definitely in my exercise regimen. After awhile that same consistency in effort became a habit of sorts and the pounds began to melt off. Fast forward a little more than 3 years later and I’m about 50 lbs lighter than I was…BUT in truth that same consistency has lacked off, resulting in a stalemate of sorts. A week of resting from working out won’t kill your weight-loss progress…but a week or two of poor eating can wreak HAVOC on that same progress. Too many inconsistent weeks of on again off again working out and good/bad eating have kinda found me in limbo. So when I tell you consistency is key, I’m not saying it just to be clever…I’m saying it because I know it to be true.Β 

Thankfully, like most things in life…nothing is finite.

get

Hey Consistency…I think it’s time we get reacquainted.

You want to lose weight? It can be done. I say all the time that small changes can make big results. Make those small changes a part of your every day life. Allow them to become habits. We have all kinds of habits that we don’t think about – they’re just second nature. What would your life look like if your habits were healthier? If healthy living was just second nature? It’s not so far out of your reach. This I know to be true.

As for me? I recently quit my job, so that was a BIG change that will allow me for more consistency in my work/home schedule. I’m looking forward to that, and these past couple of weeks have afforded me some time to think and plan out the next steps for myself. Some of those next steps include the following:

  • Lose 60 lbs over the next 6 months (April 2014)
  • Running in races I personally love vs getting caught up in the race hype (2014 Goal)
  • Take my kettlebell work to the next level with more consistent practice
  • Yoga at least once a week
  • Cooking more meals…eating less processed food
  • Beginning my Personal Training Certification (2014 Goal)

It’s going to be an exciting time around here…and I’m very much looking forward to the changes to come. But to make that happen, I have to be….what? CONSISTENT. πŸ˜‰

So tell me…what are some of the issues that you might be having with getting some consistency in your wellness routine?

10 thoughts on “On the Importance of Consistency

    • I think that’s something that a lot of us struggle with. But what helps me sometimes is looking at how far I’ve come and remembering what it was like to be unhealthy…it wasn’t a good feeling, nor is it something I want later on.

      Every so often spice things up and switch up the routine. A new recipe, a new class at the gym, even new workout gear can get me inspired. Find out what works for you and run with it! (pun intended, lol)

      • Haha that’s an excellent point and I often remind myself how far I’ve come (I even have those marble jars where you move one for each pound lost) but after one trip up I feel like I may as well throw in the towel. I guess it’s just forgiveness that I struggle with really

  1. Pingback: Progress Report! Right Before Your Eyes! | Walk With Jennifer

Leave a Reply

