Technology CAN = Accountability

Let me tell you something…in this day and age there is an app for just about EVERYTHING. When it comes to working out, most of us seem to keep our cell phones handy…so why not put that bad boy to work? I want to share with you some of the apps that I’ve come to use and love. Most of them are available for Android or iPhone, so where I could, I’ve included links. Enjoy!

Epicurious

Love this app!. Tons of cool recipes for a foodie like me to check out and drool over. More importantly, I like the fact that you can add a recipe to your “Shopping List” and it will populate a shopping list of the ingredients needed to make the recipe. So far, I’ve made some pretty amazing meals with this app…PLUS you can designate what kinds of recipes you’d like…Healthy, Low Cal, Gluten Free, Quick Meals, etc.

GymPact

If you were paid to go work out…would you do it? This app asks you to put your money where your mouth is by challenging you to make a little friendly wager. You set how many workouts you plan on doing that week, and if you hit your goal you will be rewarded monetarily (YUP!). HOWEVER, if you don’t make your goal, you will have to pay up a minimum of $5 per workout missed. Let me tell ya…I’ve been using this app for about two weeks now, and I’ve not lost a challenge yet! For iPhone users, you can use the app to track a workout just about anywhere, but for Android users like myself, you can only log workouts that are at a gym (you do a check in on the app) or you can log runs via syncing with RunKeeper. Which leads me to…

Runkeeper 

Now….normally I am more of a Map My Run kinda user, but I mean since it enabled me to sync runs to Gym Pact I figured why not (friend me here!). Surprise of all surprises…this little app is kinda awesome. You can set various goals for yourself based upon mileage, or weight…as you track your progress in the app, it sends you little congratulatory messages. You wouldn’t think so, but a little of encouragement can go a long way – even from an app. 🙂 Also, a recent update to the app will now allow you to sync runs to My Fitness Pal, which logs in the caloric count. Sweet!

Map My Run

I’ve used the MapMyRun app and website for years now (find me here!), and it’s really a cool app to use. You can plot out a course ahead of time, or even find courses that other members have created themselves. It give yous splits on runs/walks as well. My only real ‘gripe’ with it is the same gripe I have for just about any phone based running app…the GPS can be a little wonky, making it seem as though you’ve run farther then you actually did, and faster…

My Fitness Pal

In my opinion, this is the number one food tracking program. It has just about any kind of food you can think off, you can put recipes in there as well and it will calculate the nutritional value per serving based off of the ingredients you include in the recipe, you can input physical activity, AND at the end of each day it will let you know how much you would lose/gain in 5 weeks if every day was like the one you just logged. Pretty awesome app. I’m friends with a couple of you guys on there (you can find my profile here), and though I may miss a week of tracking, it’s nice to have folks on there who will send you little reminders or messages to come back and track!

Fooducate+

I haven’t been using this one as much as I could/should, but I still like the idea of it. Basically, it is a barcode scanner app that would allow you to see how that box of cereal or popcorn or whatever measures up in terms of nutrition. Each item is given a grade A+, B-, C, D…you get my drift, and for those foods that don’t pass the grade healthier alternatives are given. It’s really a cool little tool to use when your out grocery shopping, or even if you want to take stock of some of the brands you currently keep at home.

Kettlebell 300

If you follow me on FB (and you should!) you’d know how in love I am with Kettlebell workouts. They’re super simple and you don’t need a lot of equipment to be effective. This app was created by personal trainer Greg Brookes and quite simply it takes you through about 5 different kettlebell exercises that can be completed in about 20-30 minutes using just the one kettlebell. There are instructional videos for each of the videos so that you don’t feel completely lost.

Bodyweight 500

This is another app brought to you by Greg Brookes, but this one focuses on 10 exercises that only utilize your body weight.

Water Your Body

I have a love hate relationship with this lil app right here. When I’m using it, I love it…when I don’t use it properly, I hate it. Let me tell ya why…This is an app that is meant to track how much water you’re putting into your body. Now, for those of you who think that 8 glasses of water a day is sufficient…sorry to break it to ya, but that’s not the 100% absolute truth. Realistically speaking, the amount of water intake needed depends on a number of factors. How much exercise you do, the climate you live in, your gender, your weight…yea it can get a little hard to determine when it comes down to the exact amount. BUT this little app has your water intake based upon your weight and allows for the use of several types of cups (from 3.4 oz cup up to 23.7 oz cup/bottle). My default cup size is 12 oz, since I use a 24 oz water bottle throughout the day. You can set little reminders to drink water on an hourly basis, which – fair warning – sounds a lot like someone flushing the toilet, lol. If you’re good about drinking water and logging it into the app, the reminders won’t go off, but if you’re not, you can expect a lovely reminder every hour.

Simple Weight Loss Resolution

I use this app to set a weight loss goal and it places a widget on my phone’s homescreen that will basically track how many lbs away I am from my goal.

Weight Tracker Plus

This is another weight tracking app that works slightly differently than the other one. This one allows you to see graphs and track over time the weight that you lose/gain. It’s kinda cool to be able to look back over the course of weeks and months to see how you’ve been progressing, or not progressing as it were.
What are some of your favorite fitness apps? Have you used any of the ones mentioned above? How do you like to incorporate technology into your health and wellness plan? Let me know! 🙂
4 thoughts on “Technology CAN = Accountability

  1. For Android, Runtastic is a great gps tracking app. Gives great information (average speed, elevation, splits, calories burned) and automatically exports to myfitnesspal!

Leave a Reply

