Tuesday Weigh In with Miles to Spare

I gained a little over 3 lbs since last week’s weigh in, but it didn’t surprise me at all. Last week was a ridiculously rapid weight loss due to the stomach virus I had. It’s really easy to weigh less when you literally have no food or remnants of food in your system. I’m guessing that as I started to eat again, things kinda returned to some sort of equilibrium? I dunno. Anyway, point is I’m ok with the gain because I still see the weight loss visibly. Non-scale victory for today? I totally ate like a normal healthy person…and got excited about the prospect of spinach as an evening snack. Weirdo. Lol, but making better life choices is an ongoing process for everyone. We never wake up one day and are just perfectly fit forever. So, I can live with a gain for this week because I know it’ll be a loss next week.

I went for a run this morning and it almost didn’t happen. I’ve been experiencing some tightness and popping in my hip flexors. I talked to my trainer about it the other day, and after basically admonishing me a lil bit for having gone for a run and doing a spinning class in the same day, she told me that what I was experiencing was a symptom of over usage. Prescription? This guy:

tough love...literally

tough love…literally

So while the roller helped yesterday…and though I rolled this morning before heading out for the run…I felt a little pain in my left hip flexor. The kind of pain that lets you know that you overworked yourself…the kinda that makes you want to limp. *sigh* I started out for the run and not 5 minutes into it thought it  would be a good idea to turn around and go home before I hurt myself further. Yet something happened on the way back…my leg felt better…not like 100%, more like 50%-65%…but enough for me to think I could run for a little bit. And just like that I went back at it. Something about runners that always strikes me funny…we hate not running…but will run through an injury or a pain which could potentially prevent us from running anyway because we didn’t let it heal. Why do we do that? Anyway…my leg felt better the longer I ran. Maybe it was warming itself up? Who knows. All I know is that I managed to get in a good 6 mile run with some regular walking breaks sprinkled in and a 1 mile cool down to boot.

Not having run that distance in a good while, naturally I was a little stiff as the day went on. But, I’m glad I did the 6 – I was slated for 5 today and even then thought of doing only 3. Why I keep short changing myself on these longer runs I don’t know. I think it’s a mental block I’m going through or something. In any event, I’m glad I was able to get a run in. With the Rock n Roll USA Half Marathon coming up in a couple of weeks I need to get my endurance back up there. I think I’m going to call today my long run day since I went short on Sunday. Next Sunday…depending on how my legs feel, I may begin to up the mileage some more. I’d like to at least get a 10 miler in before the race. We shall see though.

Till next time! 🙂

One thought on “Tuesday Weigh In with Miles to Spare

Leave a Reply

