Crashing & Recovering

Yesterday was one of those “I dont wanna work out” kinda days. I credit that to a good book I was reading that seemed to keep me from going to bed at a decent hour the night before. Nonetheless, I knew I had to go get it in – especially since I had a session with my trainer that day. I made my way through the session, and she threw some new kettlebell combinations my way – that definitely woke me up. πŸ™‚

Today…though….lol. I was slated for a 4 mile run, but I scrapped that because I literally could not make myself get out of bed. It’s ok, tomorrow I have the entire day to myself and can get a couple of workouts in if I wanted. In the meantime, I was able to catch up on some apparently much needed sleep. I’m kinda surprised that the lack of a few hours of sleep would mess me up so poorly…Granted, I know I’ve been going pretty hard in the gym and on the road lately. Between my gym sessions and runs, I think I’m working out about 4-5 days a week and I haven’t done that in…well I won’t say. πŸ™‚ hehe

All of this activity just means I need to be more diligent in making sure that I get enough sleep. ThatΒ is gonna be the challenge. I’m notorious for staying up late…and hitting the snooze button too many times…before resetting the alarm all together. How do you guys manage getting enough sleep? And how many hours can you function on? I’m finding that I really need 7-8 hours, but realistically I am getting anywhere between 4-6. Awful – I know.

Oh, on the plus side…had my weekly weigh-in on Tuesday and *drum roll please*…

I lost 2 lbs!!! *woot* That was a great feeling…I’m really making some progress, not just with the weight, but more so with the things I’m eating. More fruits and veggies…uh…more fruits than veggies, but I’m getting there, lol.

This weekend I’ll be running in a 5k race, my 1st race of the year!

adorable lil monkey!

Till next time! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Crashing & Recovering

  1. Most of us make plans for what we’re going to do exercise wise way in advance then we try to stick to them. Ultimately, though, we must let our bodies decide. Otherwise we run the risk of injury. But, of course, in order to meet the demands of our plans we should strive for both nutritional excellence and proper sleep. But, I’m a night owl too so I totally know where you’re coming from. πŸ˜€

  2. I’m a night reader too so I know how hard it is to put the book down, especially if you’re at a good part. And like you I’m trying to get 5-6 days of exercise in, even if I really don’t feel like it. Having a trainer waiting is a great motivator — I have one twice a week so there’s no excuses there. It’s the other days that I sometimes have to force myself. But Randy’s right — some days you just have to throw in the towel and take a day off. You’re better off in the long run.

Leave a Reply

