What To Do When Your Legs Give Out

Had a 4 miler planned for myself today after the session with my trainer, but that didn’t actually happen – the run that is. I had a great session with her, and apparently I’m picking up on the lifts and things she has been showing me pretty quickly. At this point I feel comfortable enough with the kettlebells to at least begin to use them to practice on my form and everything in the times that I’m not with her. Thing I didn’t realize about kettlebell training…that sh*t KILLS your legs! It’s all about the power you have in your legs. Now, granted, my legs are pretty strong, but the thing is…they’re not strong enough to handle a KB session and flow right into a run.

That just ain’t happening.

I tried…really, I did, to make the run happen. My legs though, just wanted nothing to do with running after the session ended. I wound up doing a power walk/jog for about 2 miles on the treadmill, and kinda disappointed that I wasn’t able to get my run in, I decided to hit the stationary bike. Not a bad choice as it turns out. I did about 8 miles on the bike, my legs didn’t feel completely dead – a relief.

After the workout I went home and made one of these:

Peanut Butter Choco 'Nana Green Smoothie

Peanut Butter Choco ‘Nana Green Smoothie

Yep, my very first Green Monster. It was peanut butter, banana, kale, and silk dark chocolate milk. Overall, it was an ok first attempt. I used a new brand of peanut butter, and I think I’m still adjusting to the taste of it. Texture-wise the smoothie was ok…it was thick due to the ingredients, but I think next time I will add some ice cubes or maybe some more liquid to thin it out a little bit.

If you guys have any good ideas for new combos for green smoothies, let me know – I’d love to try em!

Till  next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

