Janathon: Moving Forward

Went for a 3 mile run today and it felt pretty good – even with the 23 degree weather, lol. I needed to run…not in a physical sense, but in a mental and emotional sense. There is just something about running that just has a way of calming me…or making me happier. I was just glad to be out there…pushing myself…paying attention to how I felt and just coaching and encouraging myself along. Running, if nothing else, will teach you how to be your biggest cheerleader. Most of the time there isn’t anyone by your side to encourage or push you…you’ve gotta do it yourself.

lol, hey...my thighs are quite supportive :)

lol, hey…my thighs are quite supportive šŸ™‚

After the run I went to my gym for an appointment I had with their fitness director to discuss the details of this fitness challenge they’re doing. In essence, you have 12 weeks to make the biggest physical fitness change you can. They are giving little supplement packages and offering a few sessions with a physical trainer to get folks started, but in essence the goal is to lose as much weight/body fat as you can. They broke participants into several age groups and whoever can either lose 30 lbs in that 12 week span or have the biggest physical transformation will be eligible to win a couple of different prizes at a local and national level.

I decided to sign up and give it a go. I want to lose about 50 lbs by August of this year…if I can knock 30 out in the next 3 months, then hey…awesome. The bigger point for me though, is that this is going to be different than what I’ve been doing thus far. I think I’m going to pick up a personal trainer as well, maybe just for the duration of the challenge, or maybe until who knows? Ā I recognize that at this stage in the game, what I could use is someone else pushing me past what I’ve considered my limits. I think I’ve kinda tapped out on the gym experience…love going, but I think I hit a plateau where I’m just doing the same things. And like most, instead of doing the research and playing around with the different machines and things there…I’d rather someone else just be there to challenge me and show me something new.

I’ll be blogging about my progress in the challenge – of course. So, in the interest of full disclosure, here are my beginning stats for the challenge:

  • Weight: 256.8
  • Body Fat: 40.3%
  • Waist: 44.75
  • Hip: 53
  • Thigh: 30.25

Only place to go now is up! Er…down. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

