Making Strides

 

This morning was a special long run for some of the ladies in my running group. I’d mapped out our 8 mile course last week and went to bed last night super anxious and excited. Not just because it would be our first long run together, but because I had 14 miles on my personal running schedule.

Yea. 14. But in true CRR fashion…I didn’t want to do 14…no, I wanted 16. 16 miles…a distance I hadn’t attempted since last February, but with the MCM looming over head I felt I should get a nice and lengthy run in at some point before October really got under way.

The run itself was fine, what made it even better was that I walked the first 3 miles so by the time I got to running I was sufficiently warmed up. I did a walk /run approach today, where I counted my steps. Ya, I know it sounds boring, but I think it actually worked well for me. Every 400 or so steps I ran I would walk for about 120 steps and then get back to running again. I think it helped me to keep a good steady pace, kinda like a military cadence helps soldiers to run or walk all together. By the time I got to mile 8, that’s when I really kinda got into the running and I think the second half was a lot more running heavy than the 1st half of the run.

All in all, I felt really good though…hence the extra .5miles I added on the end just for emphasis.

Now, I relaxing in my compression tights and looking forward to a nice soak in an epsom salt bath later on, followed by a good night’s sleep.

I ran 16 miles today…how ’bout that. *smile*

Happy running!

overall time/distance/pace

 

my splits

Leave a Reply

