But I Would Rather…

…stay in bed.

Well friends, admittedly this is a first. For the first time that I can remember since I started running almost 3 years ago….I haven’t felt like running. Meaning…instead of popping up to run in the early morning, I’d much rather stay in bed. And so I do. In fact, I’m writing this very post from the comfort of my own bed.

Yep, I ditched a run today.

As I stood there this morning in my running gear, I began to ask myself…

Am I going to run this morning? At the gym? On a treadmill? For 3-4 miles?

*sigh*

The answer was….NO.

I don’t know what has gotten into me, though I admit part of it is the weather. I have no joy in running outside in the humidity ans the heat. And I have very little desire to get out of bed at 5am to run in less heat. I’d rather catch up on sleep that I’ve been missing.

Still…there is something to be said about that quiet guilt that creeps up on you as you think about the fact that you could’ve run today….that you probably should’ve run today, but in fact you didn’t. I hate that feeling…it’s such an annoying little bugger of a feeling. In truth, I know this past week or so I’ve kinda abbreviated some runs or cut them out all together because I just didn’t feel like it, or didn’t have the time, or because I chose to stay in bed.

As much as I love to run, I don’t know what to do with these feelings. So far, I figure if it is rest that my body seems to need, then rest I will give it. However, I miss running outside and hopefully I can pull myself together enough to make it out there again.

Just not today. 🙂

Has anyone else experienced something like this before?

2 thoughts on “But I Would Rather…

  1. All the time…this is normal! I was burned out and decided I love running outside, but not in the summer months so I mix it up in the summer by taking swimming classes, aerobics, boot camp….My love for running and race training resumes in the fall and winter!!!!

Leave a Reply

