Race Recap: Philadelphia Broad Street Run

Oh, I’m sorry…did you say something? I couldn’t hear you over the sound of my AWESOMENESS!!!!

Today was a great day for a race. I’ve decided that I am very much a gloomy weather runner…give me overcast skies, a slight chill in the air, and an otherwise gloommy looking day and I get excited about running. I hate the heat and tend to break out into heat rashes when I run out in the hot sun, so today’s overcast slightly chilly May morning was a perfect day to hit the Broad Street Run. My bestie and I made our way to the location, got ourselves settled into a nice spot in the Pink (last) corral, and just kinda basked in the crowd and the energy. There were a TON of runners there…

Me and the Bestie!!!

and…

And this was JUST a small fraction!!!

 

Due to the location of our corral, when the race got underway it was a nice little downhill start to the race. However, what I didn’t realize, and hadn’t really planned on, was the fact that Broad St was composed of a bunch of gradual hills. *moan* I thought this was going to be a fast flat race! Not the case at all…there was hill, then valley, then hill, then valley…for most of the 10 miles. Miles 1 – 4 my friend and I managed to stay together, but after that we got separated in the crowd. That wasn’t so bad, she’s a faster runner than I, and I knew I wasn’t going to be able to keep up, and I didn’t want her to slow down her stride. The solo runner in me is all about a person running THEIR race at THEIR pace – be that fast, slow, or anything in between. So I kept making my way along, letting the energy of the crowds and the runners around me push me forward. By mile 4 – 5 I was able to spot a couple of ladies from BGR! who I paced for another mile or so to find my own strength and footing. Miles 5 – 7 felt decent enough, at that point I just decided it was pointless to be upset about the rolling hills, and that I just needed to make my way up and over em. I found my stride, and just rode it out till Mile 8, where my thoughts shifted towards a strong finish and a proximity of the the finish line.

 

All in all, I finished the race with an official time of 02:13:27 (13:20 min/mi pace), which is a PR for me! I slashed a good 7 minutes off the time I clocked at the GW Parkway Classic 10 Miler a couple of weeks ago, and once again proved to myself that I can most certainly do what I set my mind to. The body is far stronger than we sometimes give it credit for, and if nothing else, running has shown me that.

Broad Street Run 2012…beeen there, ran that, got the medal!

 

Of course, as the race got underway I began to question my sanity – what kind of person PAYS to do this to themselves? Why am I doing this…again?!?! *smile* But we all have our reasons for running, I definitely have mine. I run to give myself peace, to feel accomplished, to be inspired and to inspire. I run for those who can’t, who are afraid to, who have yet to find the strength in their stride. I run because to me, running is life – I run to live and I live to run. This race in particular I dedicated to the memory of my grandmother, and two aunts, who all passed away due to cancer. I believe that they were with me today, and I really hope that I was able to put a smile on my grandmother’s face. She was one of my biggest supporters and advocates growing up, and I know that if she could see me now, the woman I’ve become, the runner that I am, that she would be proud. I’d like to think that today I made her proud, and that she was with me every step of the way.

I could not forget to send a HUGE thank you to all of you who donated to the American Cancer Society to support my fundraising efforts. I cannot express how appreciative I am of that, and I hope that the kindness and charity you have shown will turn into a blessing in your own lives. Here’s to finding a cure to cancer, one step at a time.

3 thoughts on “Race Recap: Philadelphia Broad Street Run

  1. Pingback: Day 6: 60 Days of Serenity Challenge | The Curvy Road Runner

  2. Pingback: My Runner’s Evolution…or Runvolution | The Curvy Road Runner

Leave a Reply

