Giant Steps

Only a few days away from my first half marathon, and how do I feel?

Calm…relaxed…and ready.

Undoubtedly a far cry from where I was a year ago…I missed numerous opportunities to sign up for my first half simply because I was scared. I just wasn’t sure if I could do it…I mean…13.1? Didn’t seem like someone like me could handle that…even with all the mileage I was logging back then, my mind won out over my body and I didn’t go for the goal last year.

This year? We’re going for the goal with gusto. And confidence. And the belief that can’t is a dirty word, failure is not an option, and perseverance is the only way to live. I don’t just run for fun…I run for the love of it. I run to live. This is me, its what I do and its what I’m about. I’ve put several half marathons on my race calendar.

I’m not just doing one half…I’m planning to do four. PLUS my first marathon. Take THAT fear! I’ve got a “git ‘er done” attitude now, and I’m taking no prisoners. Sometimes the only thing that stands inbetween you and your dream is yourself. Well, I’m ever so politely shoving myself outta the way. Life is way too short and there are far too many cool races and runs out there for me to let fear keep me from jumping in and enjoying myself.

This race Saturday is gonna be awesome. The weather is looking to be about 80 for the day’s high, which means a kinda warm start. I’ve got my clothes already laid out in preparation, running capris and a tech tee. Just to make sure the outfit combo worked, I went for a dress rehearsal run earlier this week.

A dress rehearsal run????

Yes, that’s right, you heard me. I’ve had one too many races where wardrobe has become more of a hinderance than a help. I don’t want that to be the case in this race. I’ll have far too much going on in my mind to be concerned about the gear I’ve for on. I’ve also decided to wear my new Asics GT 2160s on race day. I’ve been breaking them in for about a week now, and while I feel really good in them. My old 2150s are pretty much done. With a race of this length, I want my feet to get all the support they can.

I’m feeling really positive about this Saturday. Rock N Roll!!!!! 😀

image

let's do it!!!!

5 thoughts on “Giant Steps

  1. I just started following your blog, this is a great post. I did the RnR Half marathon in St. Petersburg, FL on Feb. 12th this year and it was my first half. I. LOVED. IT. I was on a hig from it for days. Still, I am so proud of myself for doing it.I am doing my next half in November and can’t wait. Good luck and have fun!!

Leave a Reply

