Running Like a Mad Woman

I have been on a serious mission. This marathon training…as scared as I am of doing the 26.2, at the end of the day…when I hit the road, I don’t give two shits about the fear. I have a job to do. That job…

Is to run like like a mad woman.

Bubble Girl understands what I'm talking about...

To run like nothing else matters. Like my life depends on it. In a way, as it’s tied to my health and wellness, I guess it kinda does. But…*shrug* The point is…when I get out there to run, I just run. Or walk. Or slug along. WHATEVER, I’m moving. 🙂

Last Friday I had a 12 mi run planned…and me being my simple overachieving self decided I wanted to do 13 miles. Do you know what happened?

Yea, it was terrible. It was cold, I was tired, and my brand new compression tights (I’ll be writing about those in a separate post later) were irritating the hell out of me. I wanted to cry out there. But I didn’t. I wanted to stop. But I couldn’t. I literally had come too far to stop – I had to travel the remaining 6.5 miles or so back to my car. No one to call. No one to come pick me up. Not even a cyclist who I could bum a ride back with. Just me. And my two feet. *sigh* So I just kept it goin and finished what I started. Truth be told? I hated it, lol. OOOOO boy did I hate it. I wound up running the first half and walked the rest of the way back to the car.

Sunday’s run was a 5.65 mile run that I did with a friend. It was awesome and I just felt so much better. It was nice to run with a friend, and even nicer still to run with someone who kept a faster pace than I did. Monday was a short 2 miler (less than 2 mi actually) with the ladies of BGR! DC and it was another great run. Again, running with someone who kept a faster pace than I usually run was a nice challenge and I found myself doing really well. Wednesday’s run was a 14 miler. Yes, I was hesitant to get out there and try again after Friday’s misery, but I felt like I didn’t have a choice. I’ve signed up for a Half Marathon in March. I’m not backing down from the Marine Corp Marathon in October. I had to get out there and just DO it.

And I did it.

I ran 14 miles. The longest distance I’ve EVER covered to date. How did I do it? Well, I tried to break the run down into manageable pieces. I knew from my previous experience that running the entire way wears me out. Granted, I think that a large portion of that is more mental than physical, but nonetheless I had to get my mind to believe that I could logically pull this thing off. So the plan was to run 2 miles and walk one mile – all the way to mile 14. I’ve gotta say, I was doing pretty well right until about mile 11. Mile 11 was a walking break, and thankfully there was a grocery store nearby so I took a minor detour and went in to buy some Gatorade G2 and a banana. That was THE best idea ever! A few good gulps of the Gatorade, and…

thats EXACTLY what it looked like

I got a nice boost of energy and by the time I got to mile 12 I felt like I could run the remainder of the run. I had a decent enough stride and felt good, but that last mile was kinda rough. Mostly because I kept looking at my phone to see how much farther I had to run, but also because I felt as though I may have exhausted whatever was left in the engine. But I made it! I got home, grabbed some quick protein, and immediately got in the tub to soak and that felt really…really…REALLY good. But when I got out? It was as if a wave of nausea or fatigue hit me like a ton of bricks. I had to sit down and take a moment to recover before I could go and get some real food in my system. Afterwards, I felt a lot better and just put my compression tights on (no, I didn’t run in them) and wore them for the rest of the evening to assist in the recovery efforts. Lesson learned from that run?

1. I CAN DO THIS

2. Slow & Steady WORKS

3. TAKE BREAKS BEFORE YOU BREAK!

4. Invest in some good energy gels/goo/beans/whatever to ingest along these longer runs. I’ve tried some GU, and I’m not really a fan of the taste (who is I guess). I’m just going to keep looking and try to find something that works for me – any suggestions?

Anywho, today was a short 2 mile run and it felt great. Looking forward to my runs this Sunday – yea, I’m gonna try and do a two-a-day run on a few Sundays. Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “Running Like a Mad Woman

  1. New compression shorts on a long run??

    Might want to start them out on a shorter one! I usually avoid anything “new” liek that on longer runs. Especially anything that can cause chaffing. I hate chaffing.

  2. You are an inspiration Curvy Road Runner. It’s because of your blog that I am considering doing the MCM this fall too. Haven’t fully committed yet, but have you to thank for even thinking about doing it this year. I love your attitude and spunk! Keep writing. I really look forward to your posts.

Leave a Reply

