Fueling the Engine

Food is something I usually don’t talk about with you all, partly because I’ve never considered myself to be an authority on all things nutrition. And also because, truth be told…I’m a big ole greedy foodie! *smile* I don’t make any excuses about why I eat what I eat, through my attempts at living a better and healthier life I’ve learned that I quite simply enjoy food.

What this has meant for my running and weight loss is that I do have some weeks where the scale doesn’t budge as much, or it may even go up a bit. It’s a hazard of my own approach to food…which is “eat healthy as much as you can, but it’s ok to indulge every once in awhile” Admittedly that “every once in awhile” sometimes becomes several times in a week…especially during this past holiday season.

So, frustrated with the fact that I’m putting all this hard work into my marathon training and yet my scale isn’t moving down enough (or at all in some weigh-ins), I’ve decided to re-evaluate what I’ve been putting into my body.

First up is my water intake

Yea, I can relate...

This has been spotty, at best. There are days when I do ok, maybe close to 6-8 glasses of water, and days where I have no idea how much or how little I’ve taken in. I used to drink Crystal Light, and that was how I got my water intake, but I’ve decided to give that up and switch to plain water. Why? Well because one day I looked in the bottom of a pitcher of crystal light I made and saw this weird filmy stuff. Then I looked at my water bottle and realized this is probably the same stuff that collects at its bottom. I realized then that if it looked gross at the bottom of the container, it must look even grosser when it’s in my body. I did a little more research into Crystal Light, trying to figure out what the heck is in it…and I found a whole lot of info on aspartame. This stuff seems to be pretty nasty when it comes to the possible effects it has on the body. So with Crystal Light out of the picture, that leave me to regular water. I did do a little research into different ways one can flavor water, and I came across some of these articles: Homemade Flavored Water and 32 Natural Ways to Flavor Water

Next up…food

They say you are what you eat...

I took a look at what I’d been eating…and I realize that I’d been eating a lot of food that was prepared by other hands. Take out, restaurants, sweets, and all kinds of processed food. Food that I couldn’t properly gauge what the heck I was putting into my system. I think that was the greatest frustration for me…I relied so heavily on prepackaged healthy foods in the beginning of my weight loss journey. Then that got me to thinking…For someone who is really into trying to be healthy, I was not paying nearly enough attention to making sure I was eating the proper things.

So I’ve decided to become more hands on with my food, and I’m cooking more. At least that way I can hold myself accountable for what I’m eating and I’m taking responsibility for what’s going in my body. I’ve been looking at various recipes (using some of these sites: Simply RecipesA Black Girl’s Guide to Weight LossPaleo Plan, and Clean Eating) and trying a few things out this past week. It’s been really fun and quite satisfying emotionally and physically. I feel more empowered when I cook, and I’ve been cooking some pretty awesome meals! I’m impressing myself with my culinary skills, and I’m thinking/hoping that this increased participation on my part will help in my quest to be healthier.

What about you? How are your eating habits helping/hindering your fitness routine?

8 thoughts on “Fueling the Engine

  1. So glad you found my water post useful, and what a lovely thoughtful blog post. Been having lots of similar thoughts lately (the holidays were delicious but the consequences are brutal!). Good luck with training. I’m sure you’ll rock the marathon. 🙂

  2. Great post. I ran today after 7 days of no meat, dairy, gluten, caffeine, or alcohol as part of a 14 day cleanse, and I felt great. I was worried that I would get tired or dizzy but it went okay. I’m finding so many other ways to get fuel outside of bread products and meat. Water plays a big part as well.

    Keep up the great writing.

  3. I, too, eat and drink pretty much what I want even though I’m trying to reduce my waistline. One of the things that I find helpful is to not even buy certain things. For instance, I don’t bring chips or cookies or sugary drinks into my house (unless it’s a special occasion). I know that if it’s staring at me, I will eventually give it the attention it wants. I recently started drinking more tea instead of coffee, since I can drink tea without sugar. It is so easy to OD on sugar. I figure that that’s a helpful change since, for now, during my work day caffeine is essential and sodas are the worst! I’ve been trying to eat at home more and prepare fewer processed food. I once read and article that said to eat foods found on the perimeter of the grocery store. If you stick with those, processed food intake will decrease substantially.

  4. Great post! I’ve been trying to clean up my eating habits as well so I just started the 17 day diet which is basically a 4-phase (each of 17 days) high protein, low carb eating regimen. What I like about this is that it comes with specific recipes and menus for how one should be eating while in a specific phase….and it’s all real food that I actually eat. Lots of fruits and veggies!! The plan itself is probably too few calories for you while you’re training but you might look into some of those recipes as well. In addition, I’m using myfitnesspal.com to track my daily food and water intake. I really like it because “there’s an app for that” and you can track it all on the go or while at the computer.

Leave a Reply

