Run Like, With, and Against the Wind

Ever have one of those days when you look out your window, see the sun, and think “Oh my, it’s a lovely day outside!” And then you step outside…

*sigh*

The wind…today…was so…MEAN TO ME!!!!

Even in the walk from my door to my car I was having some serious doubt about today’s 5 mile run.

Did I really wanna have to deal with this wind?

And this COLD?!?!

Was I layered up enough?

GAWWWD…I don’t wanna run in this!!!

But I went out there…and I did it. I just started out slow, just to move, and I kept telling myself that I needed to move to get warmed up. I wanted to walk, oh boy did I want to walk..right back to my car…but I knew walking wouldn’t make me warm as quickly as running would. So I ran. Ran through the wind that beat me in my face, beat me to cold tears…and I really had to have a moment with myself where I questioned my sanity and my resolve. Why not just turn back? I could have gone to the gym and run on the treadmill. But I didn’t want to..I wanted to finish what I started, not just because I’m stubborn, but because I knew somewhere deep down that it was something I could do. Something I needed to do. Something I wanted to do. We all have our moments where we face a challenge or an obstacle during a workout…I just couldn’t let the cold and the wind stop me.

So I just kept running. Eventually I warmed up and somewhere along those 5 miles, my legs got so numb/used to the cold that I couldn’t feel my irksomely stiff ITB. Then surprise of surprises…what started out as an easy slow run turned into a kick ass tempo run. Wasn’t expecting that, but after that first mile and a half my legs woke up and I just kinda…went. I felt like a powerhouse and each step was a purposeful one. I ran faster than usual, and it didn’t feel like a chore or a stress, but it just felt right. I used the last half mile to power up some hills at this quicker pace, and then cooled down for my last mile. It was a lovely run, and by the end of it, I couldn’t feel the cold…it didn’t really matter any more by then. I was just proud of myself for sticking with it and really pushing myself through to the end. Here are my splits:

Mile 1 – 15:05

Mile 2 – 13:59

Mile 3 – 12:36

Mile 4 – 12:36

Mile 5 – 14:18

Here’s to happy running! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Run Like, With, and Against the Wind

  1. Pingback: HOLY FRICKIN COLD BATMAN! | Once and Future Runner

  2. I agree! It was a cold day out there yesterday. But after I got out there and got in the groove life was sweet!!!

    Happy running!

Leave a Reply

