MCM Training: Day 1

To get my training program, I reached out to the Smart Coach Program on RunnersWorld.com. They’ve outlined a 46 week program for me that takes me from now until race day (Oct 2012). It seems like the first couple of weeks are going to be ok…though I planned myself kinda hard, so I’ll be running a 10 miler again pretty darn soon. I can see by the looks of it that the only area in which I’d need to work the hardest will be speedwork. It’s not something I’ve ever really done, but I know I’m going to have to adjust.

My first day on the plan called for a 5 mile run at a 14:34 pace with a 1 mile warm up and cool down. Since I ran an 8k on Sunday and was admittedly in a crunch for time, I did a 4.16 mile run and averaged a 14:27 min/mi pace. I took care to make sure I went rather slow during the first mile to warm up. The hard part was trying to stay around a 14:34 pace; I think most of the time I was at least a minute or so faster than that. It will be a work in progress…but when looking at my plan it looks like every week I’m supposed to run a good 5 – 10 seconds faster. What I’ll need to do is to just make sure that I’m listening to my body.

Slow and steady will win this race.

2 thoughts on “MCM Training: Day 1

Leave a Reply

