Big Set Of Ovaries

For the past couple of days I’ve been toying with an idea…It started as a whisper…then it got a little louder. I feel it’s grown roots within me at this point.

In 2012 I am going to participate in the 37th Annual Marine Corp Marathon.

Now…let’s put this into perspective, shall we? The longest ‘run’ I’ve ever done to date was 10 miles…14 miles if you count that one time I thought it was a good idea to run beyond my limits…and walk back after I’d exhausted myself. When I think about running a race, I really want to run it…like all of it. Add those two together and that alone was enough to give me pause in regards to tackling the 26.2.

But see…here’s the thing…I believe I can do this. Even if I don’t run it all (and I realize that I probably won’t), I know that I can run, jog, and walk my way to the finish line. However I get there, I know I can get there. This may very well be the biggest, most audacious goal that I’ve set for myself. But…

I want this.

Yea, I’m a little scared of what this challenge may bring…and there are some very quiet whispers of doubt. BUT I really believe this can happen. And so, in an effort to make sure I’m going the right way and sticking to the plan…I will be sharing all of my training with you all. Step by step…mile by mile. We’ve got until October to get ready which I think gives me ample time.

So, here’s to setting a goal and having the audacity (and the big set of ovaries) to see it through to the end.

One thought on “Big Set Of Ovaries

Leave a Reply

