Micromanaging Your Weight-Loss

As someone who was (and still is) overweight there are a number of things I could worry about when it comes to eating and exercising properly. I, however, choose not to stress nor obsess about those things. In trying to lose weight I find that sometimes we obsess over the process of losing weight. Things that are rather small in the grand scheme of things get blown way out of proportion. A doughnut or brownie you enjoyed at the office later sends you into a guilt trip as you feel like all that hard work you’ve done for the day amounts to nothing. In keeping up with a few blogs and talking to a few friends who are “fighting the bulge” it seems as though this kind of behavior is common. Let me say this…

One missed day of exercise…one moment of indulgence…does not a weight loss plan break.

I’ve never been a believer in diets or quick fixes. The reason being is that I don’t like to deny myself much of anything. You only live once, and I intend on doing so spectacularly. When it came to wanting to lose weight I knew I would have to find something that worked for me. I needed something that could stay with me always. I didn’t want a diet, I needed a strategy and a plan that would change the way I ate, while allowing me to eat the foods I liked to eat. I love food. Period. I know that won’t ever change, so I needed to find a way that I wouldn’t feel as though I was denying myself only to binge later in a ‘rebellion’ against that denial.  Thankfully Weight Watchers was exactly what I needed…moderation has proven to be my friend. Yes, sometimes I go a little overboard with the treats, or perhaps I sleep in on too many run days, but the bottom line is that at some point…

I get back out there and do what I know is right.

That has been my biggest behavioral change. I know what the right thing to do is. The right/healthy way of living is now my normal way of living. Pigging out all the time and getting no physical activity in at all has now become the odd behavior. Bit by bit we change our habits and after awhile those changes habits form a changed way of living and of thinking. But you have to allow yourself the space to find what works for you, which means you have to forgive yourself for the slip ups and realize that you will at some point slip up. You don’t go from being overweight to slim and trim overnight, it is a constant day to day, moment to moment evolution. Use those slip ups as chances to learn and grow.

Don’t sweat the small stuff. Acknowledge and just do better next time. I promise you it works.

Leave a Reply

