21 Day Challenge: Day 21

Day 21: Weight Training

21 Days complete!!!! Woooohooo!!!! It doesn’t feel like it’s been 21 days, but I feel a lot more rested than I usually am at the end of a training week. I think I like this method a lot more than the standard 7 day work week; I’ve been able to incorporate more of what I enjoy into my training (like shorter runs and yoga), while making sure I’m getting ample rest. Tomorrow begins my second ‘week’ and I think I may take a look at it to tweak things a little. For example, I don’t feel as though I’m getting enough strength training in there so perhaps I will start taking that on to the end of some of my shorter runs. Now that this 1st week is over, I could go back to my sporadic posting (continuous posting was a part of my 21 day challenge as well)…but I don’t think I will. I’ve grown accustomed to writing these daily posts, and I think its been good for me to document my progress and share my challenges.

But anyway…

Today was weight training, which I haven’t done nearly enough of, but it was a good session. A quick 30 minutes and I loaded the weights on and added a few more reps and an additional set just to push myself a little further. It felt good, though admittedly not as interesting as when I run. I’m considering getting a personal trainer, just to try things out. I need a little more variety in my workout when it comes to the weights, and I think a trainer could help mix things up a bit. I’ve been thinking about it for a little while, and perhaps it’s time for me to begin looking for one. Of course my gym has several trainers available, but I want to explore my options. Ideally I’d be able to work with a trainer who either runs or knows something about it…the main point of getting a trainer would be to maximize my strength training by focusing my efforts on becoming a stronger and more balanced trainer. Anyone out there ever use a personal trainer? What was your experience?

Oh, and I weighed myself again this morning…my how the body fluctuates. Yesterday I weighed myself midday after I’d already eaten. Today I weighed myself first thing in the morning, before having anything and I showed a 1.4 lb loss from last week. I’m not sweating it…though it DOES feel good to see that scale go down, I’m not going to obsess over it. I’ll just stick to doing my weekly weigh-ins in the morning from now on.

2 thoughts on “21 Day Challenge: Day 21

  1. Always weigh yourself at the same time of the day!! Otherwise it isn’t near as consistent.

    But GREAT job on the 21 day challenge! I have enjoyed reading as you have gone through!

    “Anyone out there ever use a personal trainer? What was your experience?” — If you can afford it – it is a great way to have someone help you do the right thigns, instead of just guessing. I used one back 8 years ago when I was strength training and it was one of the best things I have done. But get one that knows about runners.

  2. Well done 🙂 !! Another challenge please 🙂 !! , I’m not sure anyone needs a personal trainer, you need a set goal, like a race..something to aim for 🙂 thats what I find works best….I started running to lose weight, but its not about that anymore at all..focus on the GOAL and eat healthy time will go faster and before you know it u’ll be 2 stone lighter 🙂 and not even focused on ur weight loss 🙂 but ur goal (for example a half marathon)…obsessing over your weight just makes it harder

Leave a Reply

