13.1 mi Seems So Far Away

 

So close...yet so far...

Realistically…I know I can do it, but it just seems soooo out of my reach. Running a full 13 miles? I’ve topped out (or should I say tapped out?) at about 10 miles. And I’ve only gone that far once.  It’s a mental block that I have to get through, and I’m sure it’d be easier to traain for the race if I actually signed up for one. I keep pushing them back and changing my mind…I’m not making a commitment to running a Half Marathon race and as a result I’m not fully committed to training for one. That’s the reality.

All I want to do is run, and even lately that’s been sporadic. I dug out an old issue of Runner’s World magazine and came across an article I remember scoffing at several months ago. It talks about extending your workout week beyond the normal 7 days. Second time around the article caught my attention and began to make sense to me. Think about it…I run maybe 3-4 times a week if I’m really good…2-3 times if I’m just going easy. By the time I get to Sunday, which is traditionally my long run, I just don’t want to get out of bed. Getting up early on one of my few days off to go run in the hot and humid weather is not my idea of fun…staying in my nice comfy bed in my ice box of an apartment is. What the article suggests, and I’m considering implementing, is stretching your workout week depending on the kind of race you’re training for. In my case, it means that I’d go from a 7 day work out week (long run, rest/cross-train, short run, rest, mid run, short run, rest and repeat…) to a 21 day workout week that consists of at least 3 long runs, some intervals for strength, tempo runs, and speedwork. I’d get to mix it up a bit so that I’m not running the same long distance every Sunday. AND I’m able to build in two consecutive rest days! TWO!!!

I started playing around with the plan, and this is a draft of what my new 21-day workout week would look like:

Day 1
X-train
Day 2
Easy Short
Day 3
Rest
Day 4
Tempo Mid
Day 5
Speed
Day 6
Rest/X-train
Day 7
Rest/X-train
Day 8
Easy Short
Day 9
Tempo Interval
Day 10
X-train
Day 11
Rest
Day 12
Easy Long
Day 13
Rest/X-train
Day 14
Rest/X-train
Day 15
Tempo Short
Day 16
Tempo Mid
Day 17
Rest
Day 18
Easy Long
Day 19
Easy Short
Day 20
Rest
Day 21
Rest
  • Short Runs: 2 – 4 mi
  • Mid Runs: 5 – 6
  • Long Run: 7+
  • Intervals: either 2 x 3 mi or 3 x 2mi
  • Speed: repetitions of a quick mile. (Ex. 2 x 1 mi; 3 x 1 mi; 4 x 1 mi; etc)

As you can see, I’ve got a nice little mix planned for myself. I’m going to finish out July with my standard 7 day workout week plan, but come August I’m going to try out the 21 day plan. I’m hoping the changes in distance, speed, and actually having built in rest days will keep me from slacking off because I’ve missed a day and will combat the desire to miss a day. I’ll keep you posted!

One thought on “13.1 mi Seems So Far Away

  1. Please let us know how this works! I would think that the variety would help as well – as it isn’t so clock work and routine. I have the same problem with getting out of bed on the weekend.. So I end up doing my long runs in the heat of the day. Still not sure which would be worse, losing the morning sleep – or running in the heat.

Leave a Reply

