A Little Morning Inspiration

Today was supposed to be a rest day, but since I didn’t run yesterday, I figured I’d do my run today instead. It wasn’t meant to be anything big, just a simple 3 miles. But for some reason, when I got to the gym and hit the treadmill, I just wasn’t feeling it. I dunno, I just didn’t feel like running in place for 45 minutes, lol. So I did 1.28 mi and walked another 1.23 mi.

That was good enough for me.

I believe that I’m arriving at that point in my training where I’m no longer so hard on myself if I don’t run a full distance. Some days you need to walk. Sometimes the body would like a little break. Not every day needs to be full blast. Balance it out.

I run. And I don’t believe that will ever change. So I can rest easy in that knowledge.

This half marathon in August is going to be fun. I’m going to have fun. Let me repeat…I’m GOING to have fun. Yes, I’ll run…but if I need a walk break, I’ll take it. I’m looking forward to the race. I’m not a competitor. Just a running afficionada.

Whatever your race, whatever your pace, whatever your level of fitness….you too can run. You can meet and exceed your goals. Day by day. Step by step. It’s definitely possible. I want to share with you an email I received this morning from a friend…

You are such a motivation to me. Seeing you has given me the courage to sign up for the Team to End AIDS Half Marathon. I was talking to my coworker and she convinced me that even me can run this. They train beginners. I really would like you to do this with me. Check it out and let me know. I am totally nervous but excited all the same. I hope to talk to you about this. Changing my life now because of you…”

When I tell you I had a HUGE smile on my face after reading this?!?! I am SO very proud of my friend for taking this on! I think it’s awesome! So it looks like I’ll be doing another half marathon the weekend after the one I’m currently training for. I’ve gotta be there for my friend, and I’m so inspired and humbled that they are inspired by me. Anyone can do this. Anyone.

Just take it one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

