Running to Eat

Admittedly my eating habits these days haven’t been the greatest. I’ve been indulging myself on some of my favorite goodies and places to eat with no remorse whatsoever. I’m not surprised when I get on the scale for weekly weigh-ins, nor have I felt any kind of shock when my numbers remain within the same 5 lb range. Why?

Because I run.

More accurately, I’ve fallen into the slump of those who ‘run to eat.’ Meaning, we run and log a gang of miles, but instead of giving our bodies the proper fuel we need to run smoothly, we go to Five Guys and order our favorite burger (Little Bacon Cheeseburger with lettuce, onion, tomato, ketchup, and mayo please!)

It’s been this way for about a month now. Eat what I want, run, eat some more, run farther. And yea, it’s cool that I’m able to do that, but I didn’t start running to maintain my weight, I started running as a part of creating a better and healthier lifestyle for myself. I don’t want my running to be a crutch to keep me level weight-wise. Actually, I’d like to get back to my better eating habits…funny thing about eating junk/fast food…after awhile it doesn’t taste as good nor as satisfying. And honestly speaking, I know I want to lose more anyhow. Plus I fell better physically when I’m eating right. Add to all of that…well I never want to get to a point where I feel like I can’t be healthy without running. Physical activity is just a part, and I know I need to do better. I know I can do better. Ok, ok…I’ll do better. šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Running to Eat

  1. “we go to Five Guys and order our favorite burger (Little Bacon Cheeseburger with lettuce, onion, tomato, ketchup, and mayo please!)” – Thats only ~600 calories. So, if you skip the fries, its not to bad.. (can you tell that I order the same thing there? šŸ™‚ )

    The secret is not to cut it out totally I think, but to just do it in moderation. Or at least thats what I a hoping šŸ˜‰

    • Lol, well at least I’m not alone in that. You’re right, moderation is definitely key, and I don’t plan on cutting a blessed thing out….just eating a little smarter and less of the bad stuff as often as I had been. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

